CPWC16 – WCAB Jurisdiction and Authority



Workers’ Compensation Origins and Overview

CPWC (Claims Practitioner in Workers’ Compensation) is a 24 unit certification program developed to meet the needs of emerging claims practitioners. This program offers comprehensive training in foundation principles required to become a certified California WC Claims Adjuster and provides the required 120 classroom hours. Presented at a practical desk level, this curriculum includes learning tools such as case studies and soft skills along with technical information.  Components of the CPWC will also help fulfill certification requirements for California WC Medical Review or Medical Only adjusters.

Module 16 – WCAB Jurisdiction and Authority

In this 16th module, we will look at the circumstances of injury under which the WCAB has jurisdiction, including out-of-state employees and out-of-state injuries. We will also look at the structure of the WCAB including the WCAB commissioners and the local Workers Compensation Appeals Board. The information presented will be foundational for the information presented in module 23, discovery and claim evaluation and module 24, Claim Resolution.

Lecture Topics Covered

  1. Jurisdiction
  2. Out of State Employees
  3. Out of State Injuries
  4. WCAB Structure
  5. WCJ Responsibilities and Limits

Who should attend.

  • Indemnity Workers’ Compensation Claims Adjusters
  • Medical Bill Review Adjustors
  • Medical Only Claims Adjustors
  • TPA / Self Insured Claims Personnel
  • Safety and Risk Management Professionals
  • Agent/Broker Workers’ Compensation Claims Staff

Difference between 3 & 5 hour versions:

  • The Indemnity Track requires the 5 hour version to meet the requirement of 120 hours.
  • The 5 hour version includes Case Studies and homework
  • All other tracks only require the 3 hour version

Key updates in progress.  Please check back soon.